top of page
R. Chetwynd-Hayes Fontana Ghost Stories
R. Chetwynd-Hayes Vampire Stories
R. Chetwynd-Hayes House of Dracula

Our tribute anthology to R. Chetwynd-Hayes

Shadmocks and Shivers

Tales inspired by the  stories of R. Chetwynd-Hayes

Edited by Dave Brzeski

Cover wrap by Jim Pitts

ISBN 978-0-957-2962-8-2. Price to £11.99.

Ronald Chetwynd-Hayes, England's very own 'Prince of Chill', would have been 100 years old in 2019.


To celebrate this, fifteen of the finest authors currently working in the supernatural genre have come together to contribute new tales of The Monster Club, Clavering Grange, Temptations Unlimited, Madam Orloff, Vampires, Ghosts and of course Shadmocks.

The anthology is edited by Dave Brzeski and will consist of new stories based on the themes and characters created by Chetwynd-Hayes. The book will feature 15 yarns by Tina Rath, Adrian Cole, John Llewellyn Probert, Stephen Laws and others, including Ron himself. Plus a feature by Robert Pohle on Chetwynd-Hayes' The Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories.  Cover artist is the fantastic Jim Pitts. 

Ron was a prolific novelist and short story writer, including his famed collection, The Monster Club, turned into a feature film in 1981 from Amicus. His seemingly limitless catalogue of short stories have been collected within such titles as The Unbidden, Tales from the Dark Lands and Shudders and Shivers. His novels include The Dark Man, The Awakening and The Curse of the Snake God.

As an anthologist Ron was best known for The Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories, the editorship of which he took over from Robert Aickman, for volumes 9 to 20 between 1973 to 1984. He also edited five volumes of The Armada Monster Book (1975-1981) and several one-off anthologies, being Cornish Tales of Terror, Scottish Tales of Terror, Welsh Tales of Terror, Tales of Terror from Outer Space and Gaslight Tales of Terror.

Ron won the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement (1988), and the Special Award in 1989 from the British Fantasy Society.

bottom of page